Serviio Transcoding

Release 2 with UPnP discovery

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby lillypad_33 » Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:31 am

my IP for the ROKU is 192.168.10.107:12345

I think maybe that Chaneru wasn't running at the time. I'll have to try that again tonight when I'm home.

Anything that was AVI seemed to work, but most of my AVI's are smaller resolutions. The AVI's were marked as HLM in the Chaneru program I believe.
MP4's played ok, but I'm sure that the logging will help you out more.

Thanks for the back and forth on this, you've been helpfull.
Hopefully I can be back :)
lillypad_33
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:21 pm

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby atc98092 » Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:32 am

Morning Jim!

I have played a bit with the few mp4 videos I have, and haven't had an issue. I'm looking forward to testing all my MKVs when you release 2.0.10. I just rebuilt my server, going back to Windows Server 2003. I tried Home Server 2011 and couldn't believe the performance issues I encountered. Very low bitrate videos were still stuttering, and this is with a AMD quad core cpu and 8 gig of ram :o

Even using optimal CPU and best quality settings in Serviio I've never had an issue with playing my mp4 videos, other than a Blu Ray rip that streams at something like 25Mbps. Poor old Roku can't handle that fire hose! I don't have very many mp4 files, as I have never found anything that will rip a movie faster than MakeMKV. I can rip a Blu Ray in 20 minutes, a DVD in 5. And that's with only a 2 core CPU. Been thinking of replacing my motherboard so I can upgrade the CPU. Can't even find AM2/2+ CPUs anymore unless they're used, and I won't buy a used CPU.

Dan
Using Serviio and Plex. Have 2 Roku 2 XS boxes and several Sony SNP-N200 media players, plus a Panasonic ST30 TV that all stream.
Server 4 core AMD 8 gig of ram, Windows Server 2003 R2 x64, gigabit with 802.11N WiFi access points (all players wired)
atc98092
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby Jim » Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:25 pm

When you upgrade Serviio to 1.3.1 which has the Roku/Chaneru profile built in, You need to remove ALL the connected Chaneru devices in Serviio's setup screen.
For some reason it fails to connect to Chaneru on Windows platform. The Mac works fine.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby jshg46 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:50 am

Is Serviio going to be able to show streaming media soon?
jshg46
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby Jim » Sun Sep 08, 2013 11:45 am

I'm not a Serviio expert but I thought it could, now.
Chaneru and Roku is a different subject. I don't right now but I was thinking of implementing an RTSP server in Chaneru. Maybe then.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby jshg46 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:24 pm

Unless I missed something, no its not working. I have it installed on my roku, but when I go to a channel that is streaming on serviio I get an Error from chaneru.
jshg46
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby atc98092 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:06 pm

jshg46 wrote:Is Serviio going to be able to show streaming media soon?


What do you mean by streaming media? I've been using Serviio for over a year, and that's all Serviio does is stream media. If you mean from online sources, Serviio does that as well, but it is limited to web sites that offer particular formats. Most online sites require some sort of plug-in, and there are dozens, if not hundreds, of plug-ins available. Crackle, YouTube, Hulu, and many dozens of foreign sites. There is porn (naturally...), sports, PBS Kids, and far more. I've only played with a few plug-ins, but Serviio feeds them fine.
Using Serviio and Plex. Have 2 Roku 2 XS boxes and several Sony SNP-N200 media players, plus a Panasonic ST30 TV that all stream.
Server 4 core AMD 8 gig of ram, Windows Server 2003 R2 x64, gigabit with 802.11N WiFi access points (all players wired)
atc98092
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: Serviio Transcoding

Postby atc98092 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:18 pm

Jim,

I see you and Zip have resolved the truncated playback. I'll keep an eye out for the Serviio 1.4 beta to test it, but of course I won't be back home until the 24th. That should resolve the final issue with playing videos via Serviio.

See ya in a week!

Dan
Using Serviio and Plex. Have 2 Roku 2 XS boxes and several Sony SNP-N200 media players, plus a Panasonic ST30 TV that all stream.
Server 4 core AMD 8 gig of ram, Windows Server 2003 R2 x64, gigabit with 802.11N WiFi access points (all players wired)
atc98092
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:46 pm

Previous

Return to Chaneru 2.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron