Hiding Certain Media Servers or Restricting Access

Release 2 with UPnP discovery

Hiding Certain Media Servers or Restricting Access

Postby FCT » Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:51 am

First I apologize if my question(s) are answered elsewhere (I've searched for *hours*) and if they don't make sense (I like technology but I'm a newbie). I'm not running anything fancy - the media servers I'm running are things like Plex, Windows Media Player, Media Monkey, etc.

I'm new to the Chaneru channel (via Roku). I'm wondering if there is a way prevent the Chaneru channel from locating and displaying certain media severs on my home network. UPnP discovery is a great new feature for Chaneru but I don't want all the media from all the servers available via Chaneru. I need to be able to point Chaneru towards specific folders. Basically, I only want the Chaneru server to discover media since I can point it at specific folders. Is there a way to do this and prevent the discovery and display of the other servers? There is content on the other servers that I don't want shared to one specific Roku device - the only server I want to run on that device is Chaneru's server. If it makes a difference, right now that Roku device is the only one I will be running Chaneru on. The other Roku devices will not have the Chaneru channel installed at this time.

I tried running the previous 1.4b version of Chaneru since there is no UPnP discovery in that one and it was fine except I could never get any art or metadata (mainly thumbnails and synopsis for movies and tv shows) to show up. So I thought I'd switch to the newer version in the hopes that the metadata issues were simpler to solve but UPnP discovery is making this difficult to set up.

I honestly don't care which version I'm running at this point (I've been at this all day and evening) but I'm hoping someone can assist me in either: